Friday, February 7, 2014

GVHS Senior Katricia Herring Recognized for Aspirations in Computing

Female High School Students Earn Awards for Aspirations in Computing

North Kansas City, Mo.— Feb. 7, 2014– As part of an effort to encourage more young women to choose careers in technology, the National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT) and Cerner Corporation will recognize 16 high-school women for their accomplishments and aspirations in computing and technology at an award ceremony and reception at the Cerner Vision Center in Kansas City, MO. on February 7. 2014.

The young women are winners of the NCWIT Western Missouri and Kansas Affiliate Award for Aspirations in Computing, which recognizes high-school women for their computing-related achievements and interests.  Each winner will receive a glass trophy, a Nexus-7 Tablet (courtesy of Perceptive Software), and a bag of “goodies” donated by many local companies and universities.

“With technology jobs projected to grow faster than all other job sectors in the next decade, it’s imperative that we nurture the computing aspirations of women, who will make up half the professional workforce,” said Lucy Sanders, CEO and Co-founder of NCWIT.  “This award allows us recognize and encourage talent that might otherwise be overlooked.”

The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing was created to encourage the computing aspirations of young women, introduce them to leadership opportunities in the field, and generate visibility for women’s participation in technology fields. Winners are acknowledged for their outstanding aptitude and interest in technology and computing, leadership ability, academic history, and plans for post-secondary education.

Following are the 2014 winners of the NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing – Western Missouri and Kansas Affiliate:

 *   Armaja LaRue-Hill, senior, Raytown South High School, Raytown, Mo.
 *   Elizabeth Billings, senior, Blue Springs High School, Blue Springs, Mo.
 *   Heather Graham, sophomore, Home School, Harrisburg, Mo.
 *   Isabelle Matthys, junior, Liberty High School, Liberty, Mo.
 *   Joy Hauser, senior, Olathe South Sr. High School, Olathe, Kan.
 *   Katricia Herring, senior, Grain Valley High School, Grain Valley, Mo.
 *   Kayla, Purvis, junior, Platte County High School, Platte City, Mo.
 *   Kendall Overton, senior, Hallsville High School, Hallsville, Mo.
 *   Kristen Buster, senior, Rock Bridge Sr. High School, Columbia, Mo.
 *   Logan Brown, senior, Lawrence Free State High School, Lawrence, Kan.
 *   Natasha Bailey, senior, Skyline High School, Urbana, Mo.
 *   Rachael Putman, junior, Belton High School, Belton, Mo.
 *   Samantha Botros, junior, The Doctors' Schoolhouse, Wichita, Kan.
 *   Sarah Hartley, junior, Liberty High School, Liberty, Mo.
 *   Sydney Scholes, freshman, Liberty High School, Liberty, Mo.
 *   Yuting Yue, senior, Barstow School, Kansas City, Mo.

NCWIT is the National Center for Women & Information Technology, a non-profit coalition of over 450 prominent corporations, academic institutions, government agencies, and nonprofits working to improve U.S. innovation, competitiveness, and workforce sustainability by increasing women's participation in IT. NCWIT's work spans K-12 and higher education through industry and academic careers. Find out more at<>.

The Western Missouri and Kansas Affiliate Award is brought to you by the following committee members and sponsoring organizations:

Judy Mullins, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Angela Klein, Liberty High School
John Dean, Park University
Rebecca Dohrman, Maryville University
Dr.Yugyung Lee, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Dr. Cindy Yu, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Dave Roller, Commerce Bank
Dr. Carol Spradling, Northwest Missouri State Univ.
Sarah Peters, American Century Investments
Abbey Trotta, Silpada Designs

Cerner Corporation
Perceptive Software
Net App
Garmin International
Commerce Bank
American Century Investments

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

A Message of Appreciation from our Superintendent

Grain Valley Parents, Community, and District Employees,

As our students celebrate their second snow day in a row, I write to thank you for your support with the passage of yesterday’s school bond issue.  The bond issue passed with 78.62% “yes” vote.  Although voter turnout was lower than usual due to the snow, those who did make it to the polls gave us the approval we need to move forward.  We also wish to thank those who worked to keep the polling places open and accessible yesterday. We appreciate the hard work of these workers and volunteers.

Although school is not in session today, I have given construction planners the go-ahead to begin the next phase of work to ensure the new secure entryways at seven buildings and the four new classrooms at the high school are in place for fall.

We have important work to do in the years ahead to enlarge and update our high school and it will take persistence to pass multiple bond issues to make this happen.  We may not need to bring a bond issue to voters every year, but we will most years.

We recognize the responsibility that comes with the ongoing support from our community and are committed to working with you to continue to improve the education experience for our young people.  Thank you!

Stay safe and warm, and blessings to you and your family.

Roy Moss
Superintendent of Schools