Friday, June 26, 2015

New Transportation Facility is Completed

Board President Chris Bamman and Transportation Director Shawn Brady
cut the ribbon as Board members and guests look on.
Nearly 60 community members and district personnel were on-hand for a ribbon-cutting and open house at the district's new Transportation Center last night. The 10,627 square foot building includes department offices, a meeting room for bus drivers, and work bays for four buses.  The secured parking lot holds 56 buses. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Roy Moss told those in attendance that both the building and the parking lot can be expanded as the district continues to grow.

Dr. Moss reminded guests that the $3.8 million project was paid for by setting aside funds over the past few years specifically for this project. "The final bills have been paid," reported Moss.

Many community members and district personnel
were on-hand for Thursday night's open house.
The new facility is on the north end of a 17-acre property located on the northeast corner of Eagles Parkway and Sni-A-Bar Boulevard, three-quarters of a mile west of Grain Valley High School.  The south half of the property, along Eagles Parkway, will remain undeveloped at this time.

Moving the transportation operation from behind the high school secures the buses and makes room for the next phases of the ongoing expansion of the high school. Additions to the high school began in 2013 and are expected to continue for several years as part of the district's long-range plan to expand and renovate the high school facility.

The transportation department can begin moving in any time. The buses will make the move before the start of the new school year.

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

School Board Receives Governance Team Award

Pictured left to right are MSBA Executive Director
Dr. Carter Ward, Board Secretary Ms. Jan Reding,
Board Member Mr. Michael Hackett, and Board
Vice President Mr. Eddie Saffell. 
The Grain Valley School Board has received the Missouri School Boards’ Association’s 2015 Governance Team Award. Grain Valley is one of twenty-three Missouri school boards who received this prestigious award. Recipient school boards have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to ongoing professional development in areas such as student achievement, school law and finance, board operations and contemporary issues in education. The award also recognizes a commitment to regional and statewide leadership and to active participation in legislative advocacy for public schools and the students they serve.

School boards in the Kansas City metro receiving the award include: Grain Valley R-V, Independence, Park Hill, and Raymore-Peculiar R-II.

The 2015 Governance Team Award winners were recognized at MSBA’s Leadership Summit at the Lake of the Ozarks on June 13.